A view from above

I am writing this from few thousand meters above the ground. The view from above gives me different perspective – random thoughts came to mind.

I’m humbled by the thought of how insignificant we truly are. We all strive to be something or someone… yet who are we?

I can’t help but reflecting on our vulnerability. We think we are in control of our lives yet who knows how long one’s life span is.

A song came to mind and I just feel the urge to share it.

This song always reminds me of what is important. In the midst of my vulnerability and fragility, I’m reminded that I am loved by Almighty God, the Creator of heaven and earth. I forget that a lot and I still strive for something that is meaningless (I don’t think I will stop anytime soon). I struggle for acceptance and significance from my peers, only to face disappointment in the end and wonder why it has to happen.

Ah, our imperfection…

Since I don’t have my computer at the moment, I can’t insert any song clip here but I can share the lyrics, which mean so much.

“Who Am I” – by Casting Crowns

Who am I, that the Lord of all the earth
would care to know my name
would care to feel my hurt?

Who am I, that the bright and morning star
would choose to light the way
for my ever wandering heart?

Not because of who I am
but because of what You’ve done
Not because of what I’ve done
but because of who You are

I am flower quickly fading
Here today and gone tomorrow
Wave tossed in the ocean
Vapour in the wind
Still you hear me when I’m calling
Lord, You catch me when I’m falling
and You told me who I am
I am Yours…

Who am I, that the eyes that see my sin
would look at me with love
and watch me rise again?
Who am I, that the voice that calmed the sea would call out through the rain
and calm the storm in me?

Not because of who I am
but because of what You’ve done
Not because of what I’ve done
but because of who You are….

Perhaps just like I see view differently from up here, God sees us differently too – He sees our vulnerability and our weaknesses and He understand that there is no way we could be “perfect”. Hence the cross – a sacrifice out of love so that we can now approach him freely. Not because of anything we have done but indeed because of who He is.

“We love because He first loved us.”
(1 John 4:19)

Comments